Skip to main content


Aug 7, 2020

Two faculty members receive the 2020 ASP Photocite A Award

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Masahiko Taniguchi and Dr. Jonathan Lindsey have received the 2020 American Society for Photobiology (ASP) Photocite A Award. 

Publication Illustration

Aug 6, 2020

Recent Publication

Featuring a recent publication by Roger Machín Rivera, Yujin Jang, Christopher M. Poteat, and Vincent N. G. Lindsay*. 

Colorful test tubes by Sara Sheykhi

Aug 6, 2020

Chemistry in Pictures: Test tube treasure

Sara Sheykhi collected these colorful solutions in test tubes as they flowed from a silica gel column, which is used to separate chemical mixtures. 

Jul 31, 2020

Wei-chen Chang presenting at the Academic Young Investigator’s Symposium, 2020

Dr. Wei-chen Chang, our young Assistant Professor, will be presenting at the ACS - Organic Chemistry Division Academic Young Investigator's Symposium. Join us for the Zoom webinar! 

Jul 27, 2020

Aligning Strengths to Advance Medicine

We are thrilled to announce that, as of July 1, 2020, Dr. Joshua Pierce will be co-director of the Comparative Medicine Institute (CMI) to help lead the many training and research programs forward. Of particular interest is the new Chemistry of Life Program that begins this month. More on that to be out soon! 

NC State University sign

May 4, 2020

College Honors 2019-20 LeRoy and Elva Martin Award Recipients

Two College of Sciences faculty have been honored with awards for teaching excellence. 

Student Mariah Wilder works on schoolwork at her home desk.

Apr 21, 2020

Adjusting to a New Normal

Junior Mariah Wilder describes in her own words what it’s like to be an NC State student in the time of COVID-19. 

Solar array on the roof of the Keystone Science Center on Centennial Campus

Apr 21, 2020

Odyssey of an Inquisitive Mind

2020 Goldwater Scholar Jonathan Palmer is tackling the global energy crisis by doing research to make solar power more cost-effective. 

Erin Baker Profile Picture

Apr 17, 2020

Prof. Erin Baker selected for a 2020-2021 CHHE Pilot Project Award

Professor Erin Baker from the Department of Chemistry recently selected for a 2020-2021 CHHE Pilot Project Award. 

Kaylie Kirkwood Preston Gourville NC State Chemistry NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program Honorable Mention

Apr 7, 2020

Our students make us proud

Kaylie Kirkwood and Preston Gourville accorded Honorable Mention. 

NC State Chemistry Castellano Group Jon Palmer Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation

Apr 6, 2020

Jon Palmer awarded The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation

Our undergraduate student Jon Palmer is now a 2020 Goldwater scholar. 

Stacks of PPE boxes intended for donation to local hospitals during COVID-19 outbreak

Apr 2, 2020

Together against COVID-19

A sizable donation of PPE offered to local hospitals.