Skip to main content

Sciences Faculty Receive University Honors

Red Belltower at dusk

Several faculty and staff from the College of Sciences recently received recognition from NC State for their outstanding work during 2017-18. Among the faculty honors given out by the NC State Alumni Association, seven of 22 winners were from the College of Sciences.

Jennifer Campbell, teaching associate professor of biological sciences, and Laura Clarke, professor of physics, received the Alumni Association Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Award. This award is one of the most prestigious undergraduate faculty awards given on campus. Recipients retain that title as long as they are members of the NC State faculty.

Drexel Professor of Mathematics Alun Lloyd received the Alumni Association Distinguished Graduate Professor Award, given annually to faculty for outstanding contributions in graduate teaching and mentoring. Lloyd is director of the biomathematics graduate program.

Cathrine Hoyo, associate professor of biological sciences, and Fred Wright, professor of biological sciences and statistics and director of the Bioinformatics Research Center, were among four NC State faculty to receive the 2017-2018 Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award. Recipients receive membership in NC State’s Research Leadership Academy for as long as they are at the university. David Muddiman, Jacob and Betty Belin Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, was also inducted into the academy as a a previous winner of the Outstanding Research Award.

Recipients of the Alumni Association Outstanding Teacher Award included Maria Gallardo-Williams, teaching associate professor of chemistry, and Keith Heyward, teaching associate professor of physics. This award recognizes excellence in teaching at all levels. Recipients of this award become members of the Academy of Outstanding Teachers for as long as they remain NC State faculty.

Staff members Shannon Holloway, senior research scholar in the Department of Statistics, and Chastity Buehring, contracts and grants specialist in the Department of Physics, were recognized as the college’s winners of Awards for Excellence, NC State’s highest honor for non-faculty employees. They will be recognized at a university-level awards ceremony in June, where five winners will be selected to receive special recognition at the university level.

This post was originally published in College of Sciences News.