Skip to main content

Brudno, Vinueza, University Faculty Scholars

Minua Nie - Placeholder Memorial Belltower

Twenty-two faculty were named University Faculty Scholars for the 2022-23 academic year. This year’s class of University Faculty Scholars includes Yevgeny Brudno, assistant professor of biomedical engineering and associate faculty of chemistry, and Nelson Vinueza, associate professor of textile engineering, chemistry, and science.

NC State’s 2022-23 class of University Faculty Scholars was announced on February 17, 2023. These 22 early- and mid-career faculty receive this designation in recognition of their outstanding academic achievements and contributions to NC State through their teaching, scholarship, and service to the university and beyond.

Since the program’s inception in 2012, 236 faculty have been named University Faculty Scholars. These faculty members carry the title for the duration of their faculty appointment at NC State.

Each college may submit nominations for assistant professors appointed for a second term, associate professors, and professors within the first three years of their appointment. Senior faculty then review nominations, evaluating them on research and scholarship productivity, excellence in teaching and mentoring, and leadership in extension, professional societies, and public service initiatives.

This post was originally published in NC State News.